When Flappers Ruled The Earth: How Dance Helped Women’s Liberation | The Guardian

Just a quick post to let you know about this article I stumbled across this weekend.  I think its a great article, much like those from the Threaded blog (which ran the History of the Flapper series that I shared).  Now, I’m not calling Dotty, Edie, or Ev Flappers by sharing this piece, I’m only sharing to provide insight into the world the three lived in leading up to their road trip.  Being from The Guardian, the article does have a slight British focus, but does discuss many American locales.  There are also a few good photos and videos included with the article.  I hope you enjoy this slight (but related) diversion from Dotty, Edie, and Ev.  Here’s the link: When flappers ruled the Earth.

I’m off to continue some mapping.  As I wrote on Facebook yesterday, I hope to be done with version 2.0 of the map sometime this coming weekend.  It will include the overall 1929 route, a layer for sightseeing, and a layer containing all of the places that Dotty sent mail from.

After the map, we’ll see what I get into next!

This entry was posted in History, Maps, Research and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to When Flappers Ruled The Earth: How Dance Helped Women’s Liberation | The Guardian

  1. Bud Gates says:

    Wow!!!!!! Flappers… What a Social look at the times. I am off to learn more, will We read of any of the Ladies Social life on the road??? Looking forward to new post
    R.

Leave a Reply

