Road Trip Map version 1.0 (Updated)

For the update, scroll to the bottom.

The destinations are marked and the routes are placed (except for a glitch halfway between Milton and Richmond, but that’s not my doing).  The first version of the map is DONE!

I thought I’d show you the current features as I would love your suggestions as to how to improve it as I go along with future versions.

Image

This is the map viewed in Google Earth.  Right now, it’s the only way to view the whole route in one image as the Google maps version is viewable in segments.  Google Maps Engine, a second platform I tried to use, looks promising, but right now lines cannot be made to follow roadways. See?

Image

So what you will see in this version are two route types: main routes in blue and day trip routes in red.

Image

You will also be able to click on any of the green pins and learn when the three visited that particular place.

Image

I will be continuing to work on the map, especially to get the rest of the route from Milton to Richmond show up and see if there is a way that Google Maps Engine will have the route follow roadways.

I am also interested in what you would like to see this map do, as discussed in my last post.  So play around with the current map and if you have a suggestion, please let me know.

As you can see in this workable preview, only the first segment is visible. To see the whole thing, follow this link, and click “Next” on the sidebar’s navigation panel to get to the next segment. There are 5 or 6 segments, it’s changed each time I look at it.

I look forward to hearing from you.

UPDATE: Map Version 1.1: Figured out why the route from Milton to Richmond stopped half way. To keep the blue line on US Route 1 over the more recently created Interstates, I overwhelmed the program with waypoints. I have deleted some so that you see the whole route, but as a result, some of that leg now aligns with roads not there in 1929 (something I tried to avoid elsewhere where possible). Same thing happened with DC to Bridgeport; towards the end of the leg, the route follows Interstate 95 and not US Route 1 as I would like.

This entry was posted in Maps, Road Trip and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Road Trip Map version 1.0 (Updated)

  1. Have a fantastic trip! I can’t wait to read more!

Leave a Reply

