A Photograph Revealed

Three Months By Car has been a part of my life for three years now.  If you’ve been with me from the beginning of this blog (or have caught up since discovering me), you know that I began my research on the 1929 road trip taken by Dotty Guyott, Edith Stohl, and Evelyn Stohl back in 2010 as a part of my master’s thesis.

Up until last week, the only pictures of the trip that I had ever seen were those included in a news article written about them after they returned from the trip.  That paper, as you can imagine, has yellowed and turned brittle.  It is going on 84 years old now.

Last week I received an email that began…

Isn´t it very, very strange that we, who live many thousand miles away from you, in an old album has a picture of three young women who are just about to start a very long roadtrip. Evelyn Stohl at the steeringwheel, at her side Edith Stohl and Dorothy Guyott!

Needless to say, I was extremely excited about this email and the picture.  I know that I have been dragging the picture’s reveal for about a week via Facebook and Twitter, and thank you so much for participating in the Mystery Pictures feature.  Without further ado, here is the photo.

1sept1929

So if you caught the opening line of the email you may now be asking…what do you mean by “thousands of miles away?”  Roughly 3,650 miles away, in an old photo album was this photo.  So what is that far away?

Sweden.

So how did this photo end up in Sweden, and how did it make its way to my inbox?  Be sure to check back in on Thursday for the conclusion to this post and also the reverse side of the photo, which I think is pretty neat too.

This entry was posted in Mail, Road Trip and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A Photograph Revealed

  1. Bud Gates says:

    Oh My Goshhhh I can’t wait.. R.

  2. ahhh! this is so exciting and neat!

  3. Pingback: A Photograph Revealed | Preservation and Place

  4. Pingback: A Photograph Revealed: Origins | Three Months By Car

Leave a Reply

