In the Box #4

One of the things I’ll be interested in when I retrace the steps of the 1929 road trip myself, because I’m interested now, is what was going on in the cities and towns that Dotty, Edie, and Ev rolled in to during their travels.

Although she doesn’t always mention it, Dotty was aware of the current events in the places she visited.  Take for example this article that she sent home with one of her letters.

DSCF0259

DSCF0260

At the top of the article from the Los Angeles Examiner, dated October 25, 1929, is the following:

DSCF0261

We saw this fire.

I find it pretty neat that Dotty would send home an article about something she saw that is possibly something that her family would not have found out about otherwise.  Certainly not like today when we hear about large brush-turned-forest-fires all over the country and have video evidence to accompany the news.

In my next post, I’m going to try something different by sharing a short history of the theater (based off of quick internet research) to give you a rough idea of what I would include in a book about the goings-on in the places the three visited as they visited.  Know that if I were to include such information in a book, I would be spending time in local archives as I retraced the trip, and not relying on internet research.  I am hoping to get your feedback on it is to see if it would be an avenue worth pursuing (among others) when I do go on my own road trip and write about my experiences as well as the 1929 trip.

This entry was posted in History, Mail, Road Trip and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to In the Box #4

  1. Pingback: This Week | Bricks + Mortar

  2. Linda says:

    I think a certain amount of current affairs of the day would enrich your writing and put it into context. If I were doing it, I might include a short inset in each chapter with what they saw and experienced, or summarize what they found interesting enough to include. I wouldn’t waste time introducing it; each chapter, I’d just call it “Notes from the past” or whatever you come up with and stick it in there as a theme. You could introduce it in the foreword or, heaven forbid, the introduction. 😉

    • Thanks for stopping by and for the feedback! I’ll play around with insets for sure as I get to writing beyond the blog (editing my MA thesis on the topic to see what could transfer over at the moment, in addition to research now).

  3. Pingback: In the Box #5 | Three Months By Car

  4. Pingback: In the Box #6 | Three Months By Car

Leave a Reply

